Print this page
Monday, 10 April 2017 15:48

Visual Art Demos at the Piccolo Spoleto Outdoor Art Exhibition

Written by

Nestled within the perimeter landscaping and scattered among the native trees, shrubs and flowers of Marion Square, you'll find the artists and their tents -- if there's a pop-up shower, simply run for the closest tent -- you're sure to be welcomed! Rain or shine, you'll find the fun, creativity and camaraderie of this 16-day art show entertaining and engaging. Over 80 local artists will not only be selling various pieces, they will also be doing demonstrations every day after the first weekend.

Here’s a schedule of when the demonstrations will be taking place:

Sunday, May 28 
THE GREAT PAINT OUT - Spontaneous Demonstrations Occurring Throughout Show!

Monday, May 29 - Memorial Day
11:00 a.m. – Lu Bentley – “Shape Making” in Acrylics
2:30 p.m. – Amelia Rose Smith – “Red, White & Blue” in Oil

Tuesday, May 30
11:00 a.m. – Ron Rocz - “Capturing African American Dance & History in Charleston” - Photography
2:30 p.m. - Nancy Rushing – “Capturing the Lowcountry” in Pastel

Wednesday, May 31
11:00 a.m. – Dianne Munkittrick - "Underpainting Magic in Oil"
2:30 p.m. - Stephanie Hamlet & Kellie Jacobs (Mother/Daughter Duo) - “One View, Two Paintings”

Thursday, June 1
11:00 a.m. – Colleen Wiessmann - “Contemporary Abstract Painting” in Mixed Media 
2:30 p.m. - Scott Penegar - “Charleston Architecture” in Acrylic

Friday, June 2
11:00 a.m. – Carla Johannesmeyer - “Painting Boldly from Life!”
2:30 p.m. – Kevin LePrince - "Oil painting - 100 degrees"

Saturday, June 3
11:00 a.m. – Laurie Meyer – “Figure in the Landscape” in Oil
2:30 p.m. - Kathy Clark - “Palette Knife Painting” in Oil 

Sunday, June 4
THE GREAT PAINT OUT - Spontaneous Demonstrations Occurring Throughout Show!

Monday, June 5
11:00 a.m. – Joyce Harvey – “Charleston Sails” in Palette Knife Oils
2:30 p.m. -  Diane Dean – “Floral Painting with Acrylics” 

Tuesday, June 6
11:00 a.m. – Sandra Roper – “The Joy of Watercolor”
2:30 p.m. - Victoria Platt Ellis - “All Around the Town II” in Mixed Media

Wednesday, June 7
11:00 a.m. –Sheryl Stalnaker - “Palette Knife Water & Sky” in Oil
2:30 p.m. -   Monnie Johnson - “From an Impressionist’s Perspective" in Oil

Thursday, June 8
11:00 a.m. – James Pratt - “Monsieur James” in Oil with Palette Knife
2:30 p.m. - Ryoko Miller - "Mandala Art, Light in You" in Mixed Media

Friday, June 9
11:00 a.m. - Lisa Willits - "Painting Skies and Clouds in Oil"

Whether you're a long-time art lover or if you’re just getting started, you won't want to miss this exhibition. 

Team Chucktown

We are the nameless, faceless, many that work here bringing you the best of everything that makes Charleston the amazing city we all love.